Home » Inspiration » Defining Success

Defining Success

Get it delivered!

Image courtesy of biography.com

“A man who won’t die for something is not fit to live” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Success has many meanings and takes on different forms depending on individual passions.  One who lives according to their desires will make dreams into reality.  For me, success is measured by the sum and quality of adventure.  My passions revolve around travel and physical activities that bring me close to nature.  When people ask me, “how can you afford to travel so much?”, my reply is always the same:  “I make it a priority.”

“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.”  Maya Angelou

I understand that my passions may not be shared by everyone; however, I do believe the concepts and habits that I have formed over the years can assist anyone to live their dreams and be successful.  It all begins with identifying what you are passionate about and what you associate with success.

A good question to ask: “what would you be willing to sacrifice for?”

Drop Off, Tulamben. Bali, Indonesia

People look at me like I am some kind of alien if I mention that I do not own a TV.  However, I understand that this means I have an extra $1,000 per year allocated to travel instead of utilities in my budget.  In this age of streaming video on-line, who needs an extra device gathering dust with a monthly bill attached to it?

Full Moon. Elephant Village, Province of Kanchanaburi, Bangkok, Thailand

I don’t even think about owning a TV, because I am too preoccupied with what the next adventure is going to be.  I am happy to sacrifice certain comforts, because I know just how much the travel will mean to me.

Identify what you are happy to sacrifice for and you are one step closer to knowing your passions and living your dreams.


Leave a comment

Share the Quantum Option

Share Quantum Option on Twitter Share on facebook Share on RSS